Mardigian Library
Ask a QuestionMy Library Account
Search Library Catalog - Books, DVDs & More
Limit to available
More Searches
Limit results to available items
Find more results:
Search MelCat
Merce Cunningham Dance Company [videorecording] : Robert Rauschenberg collaborations / three films by Charles Atlas
Alternate Title Robert Rauschenberg collaborations
San Francisco, CA : Artpix Microcinema International, c2010
Location Call Number Status
 Videos/2nd Flr  GV1786.M47 M47 2010  v.1    AVAILABLE
 Videos/2nd Flr  GV1786.M47 M47 2010  v.2    AVAILABLE
Subject Interscape (Choreographic work : Cunningham)
Suite for five (Choreographic work : Cunningham)
Summerspace (Choreographic work : Cunningham)
Subject(s) Modern dance
Physical Description 3 videodiscs (95 min.) : sd., col. ; 4 3/4 in. + 1 booklet (23 p. : ill. ; 18 cm.)
Note - System Details DVD, NTSC, all regions
Note Title from container
Interscape was first performed at Eisenhower Theater, Kennedy Center, Washington, DC, April 6th, 2000; Suite for five was first performed May 18, 1956 at University of Notre Dame, South Bend, IN; Summerspace was first performed at the Eleventh American Dance Festival, August 17, 1958, Connecticut College, New London, CT
"Merce Cunningham Dance Company and ARTPIX presents."--DVD Menu
Performer/Participant Merce Cunningham Dance Company
Credits Suite for five: choreography, Merce Cunningham ; costumes, Robert Rauschenberg ; music, John Cage (Music for piano, no. 4-19) ; music performed by Christian Wolff ; director of photography, Jarred Alterman ; editing, Charles Atlas, Glen Fogel
Summerspace: choreography, Merce Cunningham ; decor and costumes, Robert Rauschenberg ; music, Morton Feldman (Ixion) ; music performed by John Cage, David Tudor ; director of photography, Jacques Pamart ; editing, Joshua Thorson
Interscape: choreography, Merce Cunningham ; decor and costumes, Interscape mirage, Robert Rauschenberg ; music, John Cage (One to the eighth) ; music performed by Loren Dempster ; director of photography, Jacques Pamart ; editing, Joshua Thorson
Summary "In 1954, Robert Rauschenberg became the Resident Designer to the Merce Cunningham Dance Company, a position he held for ten years. During that time these friends and collaborators, along with the musician John Cage, created some of the most iconoclastic artworks of the 20th century. This three-DVD set showcases these great artists' work, along with the work of another, filmmaker Charles Atlas. The DVDs are accompanied by an illustrated essay by Bonnie Brooks. Charles Atlas has directed and collaborated on over 35 film or video projects with Merce Cunningham and served as the company's filmmaker-in-residence for ten years (1974-1983). The three films in this collection showcase Atlas's direction and editing of films and include the 2003 revival of Suite for Five, the 1999 revival of Summerspace, and the original cast of Interscape in 2000. ... Interscape explores the transitions between darkness and light, stillness and exertion, and silence and sound. A detailed and beautifully rendered work, Interscape showcases the essence of the artists Cage, Cunningham and Rauschenberg."--Container
Contents [v.1.] DVDs -- [v.2.] booklet
[disc 1.] Suite for five [videorecording] -- [disc 2.] Summerspace [videorecording] - [disc 3.] Interscape [videorecording]
Alternate Author Atlas, Charles
Cunningham, Merce
Rauschenberg, Robert, 1925-2008
Cage, John
Wolff, Christian, 1934-
Feldman, Morton, 1926-1987
Tudor, David, 1926-1996
Dempster, Loren
Merce Cunningham Dance Company
Microcinema, Inc

Mardigian Library, 4901 Evergreen Rd.
Dearborn, MI 48128-1491 313-593-5400 fax 313-593-5561
The Regents of the University of Michigan | Non-Discrimination Policy
Copyright © The University of Michigan - Dearborn • 4901 Evergreen Road • Dearborn, Michigan 48128 • 313-593-5000
The University of Michigan - Ann Arbor | The University of Michigan - Flint | SITEMAP | DIRECTORY | CONTACT